GMC Truck Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
332 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Me and a couple guys are looking into starting up a mobile detail company around town. We do all the detailing for our families and friends and do a good job in my eyes. Just going to see if anyone could offer any advice or tips or anything like that. Thanks guys

·
1,847 Posts
I'm thinking of doing the same. I enjoy detailing. Do any of you detailers gone to school to learn how to do everything or is it all self taught. Hopefully I'm not thread jacking

·
Registered
332 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
all of our stuff is self taught....one guy worked at a mister car wash as a detailer for awhile

·
Detailer & PC Tech
2,785 Posts
I'm also doing this on the side, just starting as well. All i can say is straigthen out your roles and responsibilites if you are in a multi partnership. Review all the products you can and keep learning what works best for you.

·
kissin hands shakin babie
6,529 Posts
that and look into insurance so that if someone says you scratched their car, you dont have to pay to get it painted

·
Banned
6,955 Posts
I wish there was a "real" detail place around here. Its just a mobile wash thing. No one really does a "real" detail around like with a pc or a buffer. Everyone I talk to either takes their cars to a damn car wash or just hand washes them at their house. No one understand what it means to really detail a car aournd here :imo

·
T Nigs
1,318 Posts
Yeah i was going to say look into getting insured and bonded. Otherwise i was going to advise against starting something like this with your friends, something is bound to cause conflict. but good luck in this economy, its not gonna be easy.

·
Registered
332 Posts
Discussion Starter #10