GMC Truck Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, admittedly I'm a newb. However, I do know how to use the search function. And after doing that for a couple of months, I cannot seem to get a clear answer from the myriad of RCX posts on this site. Between threads that are 5+ years old, grown men slap fighting, and actual information, I can't make heads or tales of it.

The RCX 5" lift seems like a lift I would like. I have a '13 GMC Z71. I don't want anything too flashy. I want to keep the stock rims if possible. I am not looking for a huge track width change. Just something classy and understated. However, "everyone" seems to tell "everyone else" to stay away from RCX. Why? What is the risk?

If not RCX, then what? Zone? Fabtech? BDS? Every time this discussion is had it seems to be apples and oranges. RCX's price point makes them more attractive to most. So why choose Fabtech and spend the extra $$$?

Just looking for some straight answers or maybe some good and bad experiences. Share away!

·
Premium Member
644 Posts
I'd be like a cook telling you how good my food tastes if I answered your question but members who have firsthand experience with each brand will probably chime in soon. If you have any questions I can help with on our kit, ask away!

-Steve

·
Registered
2,426 Posts
RCX is good in 5" and 6". They usually say to stay away from the RCX 3.5" or 7.5". Zone is also a good kit as well as Fabtech. Only difference is height and price between them. Fabtech is a 8" kit marketed as a 6". RCX is $849 and is the least expensive. Fabtech is almost double and Zone is right around $1000

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
876 Posts
My hate stems from country boys stretching the rcx kits to the limits. :crazy:

·
Registered
1,865 Posts
One thing about Rcx, their customer service is great!

·
Registered
202 Posts