GMC Truck Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Premium Member
680 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I had my tranny rebuilt a few months ago. From day one, it slipped a little bit in reverse and had a ticking coming from the tranny. I took it back, had him look at it, and he couldnt find anything wrong. Last night, im driving around in Tulsa, and i hear it slip when it shifts into 2nd. Its kinda weird though, you can hear the drive shaft chattering when it slips, same thing its doing in reverse. Every now and then, it would miss a shift when i was getting into it. It hasnt done that in a while though. Is there anything that i could do to fix it myself? He done some different stuff to it. Disabled the 4th gear accumulator piston, 4L60E front pump, and did some other stuff to it here and there that i dont remember. To me, it almost sounded like there was just a bit to much space in the clutches. but, i dont know, im no tranny expert. Would it be possible to get new steels and clutches and put them in there and be good to go or does it sound like somthing jacked up in the valve body?

·
Premium Member
680 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I just went out to mess with it a bit, the fluid is a darker color which is expected as its slipping like a mo fo. The truck will move as long as the clicking/ticking sound is there, but once it stops, it wont move. Im thinking front pump is fubared. Any ideas>?

·
Slow and Steady
9 Posts
I'm no guru, but I'm having my fair share of tranny issues lately....

Could be that and/or your 2/4 band is not engaging. I had mine rebuilt the end of Sept 2006 (shell gears sheared - lost 2nd and reverse) and last week noticed mine started slipping (3k-4k after the 12m/12k warranty ran out).